School Board Begins New Year with Reorganization Meeting

School Board Begins New Year with Reorganization Meeting
Posted on 01/10/2017

The Hillsborough Township Board of Education conducted their annual reorganization meeting on January 9, 2017. Gregory Gillette was unanimously approved as Board of Education President. Deena Centofanti also received unanimous approval for the position of Vice President.

Prior Board President, Thomas Kinst has served four terms as head of the governing body and will continue to serve as a member of the Board of Education. Under his leadership, with the Board as a whole, the Hillsborough Board of Education has held firm in aligning budget appropriations to the goals in the district’s 2012-2017 strategic plan. The district has implemented a 1:1 technology initiative where students in grades K through 12 were supplied with district-issued technology devices. An Energy Savings Improvement Plan was also implemented, that included $16 million in capital improvement projects throughout the district’s nine schools, without raising community taxes. Two significant capital improvement projects of replacing the Hillsborough High School turf field and Hillsborough Middle School parking lot were approved by referendum and completed last year, below budget, also without an increase in property taxes. Last year, the district also began the process of creating a new strategic plan that will continue to guide the district over the next five years.

“Thom’s stewardship of Hillsborough Township Public Schools has been characterized by forward thinking ideas, strategic planning, and fiscal responsibility, with open and comprehensive approaches to the successes, challenges and issues within the district,” stated Dr. Jorden Schiff, Superintendent of Schools. “By all measures, we have moved forward as a district and we will continue to do so in the coming years. I look forward to Mr. Gillette’s leadership, given his extensive experience on the Board.”

Gregory Gillette will serve as the School Board’s President and Deena Centofanti will serve as the Board’s Vice President. Jennifer Haley will serve as the chairperson of the Operations Committee. Judith Haas will serve again as chairperson of the Education Committee. Steven Cohen will chair the Human Resources Committee. Deena Centofanti will head the Governance Committee. New School Board member Jean Trujillo was sworn in at the January 9 meeting replacing Debashis Dutta. Gregory Gillette and Thomas Kinst were also sworn in for a new three-year term.

© 2016 Hillsborough Township Public Schools      Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.